FO: Birthday blanket

Just in time for 90 degree weather, I finished crocheting a wool blanket!

Birthday blanket, complete

Timing. I has it.

I was fully expecting to get sidetracked, somewhere between starting to crochet the blocks and actually finishing the piece. But starting on this coincided with a moment in time when I was really, really sick of knitting, so I just churned out the thirty squares, one after another.

Birthday blanket, complete

And then I thought “Well, clearly I won’t have the motivation to finish the whole blanket, what with having to stitch them all together and what not.” Apparently I just don’t know myself well at all. I went on a grand finishing kick, and had a plan in mind to finish this blanket and my Print o the Wave stole before I leave for vacation (that would be tomorrow), and, well, the blanket is finished.

Birthday blanket, complete

(I ran out of yarn on the stole, so I’m trying to either find a bit more to finish it—which is so, so sadly unlikely—or will resort to a stash yarn that sort of blends in with the rest of the yarn.) Some of you may remember how I had to bribe the cat to pose on the blanket I made for my mom. This blanket? Required no bribery. In fact, we had to have words when it was time for her to get off the blanket so I could put it away (see above, re: 90 degrees).

Birthday blanket, complete

So, details for those of you wanting to know more. The yarn is my go-to yarn, Cascade 220. I ordered the yarn about a year ago, and I think my inspiration was a sunset over the Rockies, in honor of my new location. There’s a wonderful array of colors that shift and change during the magical dusky hour, and these colors sort of remind me of that time period. I used blocks from Jan Eaton’s 200 Crochet Blocks; specifically, Tricolor Square, Wisteria, Granny in the Middle, Chocolate Box, and Centered Square. I did not plan ahead to think about how these squares would all have different numbers of stitches along the borders, so they don’t all line up very well, but I think I made it work just fine. The finished dimensions are about 52″ by 43″, so it’s smaller than a true afghan, but it’s still a good size and will keep me cozy when the winter comes back.

Crocheted edging

I finished off most of the yarn (there’s still a smidgen of the grey) by working what in knitting would be something like a slip-stitch, but I don’t know what it might be called in crochet. My friend Jacinta mentioned it to me when I was pondering finishes for my mom’s blanket; it’s a simple sc, ch 1, sc around, and then repeat on the next row, crocheting singly into the chain stitch below. So there you have it!

In other news, I leave tomorrow for about a week and a half of vacation, and I’m taking FOUR projects. But I have long flights, and some acting as passenger in my future, so I don’t think that’s overkill. I may also be delusional.

12 thoughts on “FO: Birthday blanket

  1. Absolutely beautiful blanket! I really enjoy the colours you’ve chosen. The thought of knitting a blanket right now makes me cringe, but then I consider how nice it would be to have one already finished and ready for winter and I start to get the bug to cast one on.

    • Thanks Carrie! Working on this blanket these last few weeks was sort of torturous, given how hot it was, so I suggest finding a nice, air-conditioned room if you plan to work on one. 😀

  2. It’s so amazing! I can’t wait to see it in person someday!

    I turn 30 in just over three years…if you start now, you should have way plenty of time to make one for me. 😉

    • It took me less than 3 months to make mine, so I think you can start now and have yours finished in time. 😉

  3. OMG it’s so gorgeous! I love the colors and mix of shapes!

    (And I don’t think a summer blanket is weird at all – LOL – I was just cuddling with mine the other day!)

    • Wow, I broke out in sweats just thinking about working on this blanket. It is safely tucked away in the closet for the next couple of months! 😀

  4. love the blanket! the colours will definitely brighten up those dreary winter days and your model really knows how to work it for the camera! ♥

  5. Dood, that is AWESOME! The colors are gorgeous and I’m with the cat, I’d have trouble putting it away. Have so much fun on your trip! Take lotsa pics!!
    S.

    • Thanks! I’m obsessively watching the weather and seeing that the numbers are slooooowly getting lower, which makes me more excited for this blanket. 😀

  6. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Blog Week 2011 « Threadpanda

  7. Pingback: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, Day 4 | Threadpanda

Leave a comment