On the needles

Almost three whole weeks into January and I have yet to show you a finished knitted object. That is not to say I haven’t finished anything; I’ve finished two things! But they are gifts for friends (belated birthday gifts, if you must know), and I haven’t seen said friends yet (though I am on my way to them as you read this) and I wanted a little element of surprise (this assumes they don’t stalk my Ravelry projects). So you’ll see those projects soon. But I figured I would show you the other projects I’m working on.

First up is a terribly out of focus picture of a toddler-sized sweater. The light this week has been a) somewhat nonexistent, and b) gone in a flash when it is there, so trying to take photos yesterday morning just sort of failed.

IMG_3712

Do not be fooled by my terrible photograph! This is an incredibly cute sweater design, Carol Feller’s Ignus Junior. I had this crazy idea that I could knit this entire sweater before I visited my friends today. I was close. It probably would have helped if I didn’t like sleeping as much as I do. (It’s almost finished, and it will probably be too big for the intended one year old recipient, so I don’t know why I felt the need to finish it quickly, I just did.)

I’m also working on a pair of socks. They’re simple stockinette toe-up socks, and I do have Wendy Johnson’s toe-up gusset and heel flap instructions (that I’m going to modify a bit for placement). They’re not quite as neon as this also blurry photo shows. The yarn is a self-striping colorway from Fresh from the Cauldron, and I specifically procured two skeins so that I can make these go as high as they can. Or as high as they’ll go before I get bored. Now taking bets…

IMG_3716

In other news, we have a good group of ladies coming together for the Savory Knitting Knit-a-long! If you’re interested, check out that post for details or join in the conversation on Ravelry.